endometrial or uterine cancer

What Are the Stages of Endometrial or Uterine Cancer?

After a woman is diagnosed with endometrial stages, specialists will determine if it has grown and, if then, how distant. This method of cancer therapy is called staging. The endometrial stage represents the mass of cancer in the body; while treatment, you can order your cancer medicine through an online pharmacy in the Philippines. Try to consult the doctor and get the required follow-up with necessary medicines and dosage.

What is Endometrial cancer?

Endometrial cancer begins in the inner wall of the uterus. The wall is called the endometrium. If you are facing endometrial thickness, early treatment and diagnosis raise the possibility of remission. The uterus is the curved, pear-shaped pelvic process where fetal growth occurs. Uterine cancer stages arise in the layer of eggs that provide coverage of the uterus.

What are the stages of endometrial cancer?

The International Federation of Gynecology and Obstetrics grades endometrial cancer stages into four types:

  • Stage 1 endometrial cancer: Tumor that is to the uterus
  • Stage 2 endometrial cancer: Tumor that has grown to the cervix
  • Stage 3 endometrial cancer: Tumor that has grown to the vagina, ovaries, and lymph nodes 
  • Stage 4 endometrial cancer: Tumor that has grown to the urinary bladder, rectum, or organs found distant from the uterus, such as the lungs or bones.

Most women, nearly 70 percent, are diagnosed with early endometrial cancer stages when the cancer is within the uterus. Extra 20 percent are diagnosed when the endometrial stage has metastasized (extent) to nearby glands and lymph nodes. About 10 percent are diagnosed when it has metastasized to different sections of the body. 

How is the stage determined?

The 2 methods applied for endometrial cancer staging, the FIGO (International Federation of Gynecology and Obstetrics) method and the American Joint Committee on Cancer TNM staging method, are equal.

They both stage based on 3 factors of uterine cancer stages:

  • The size of the tumor (T): How distant has cancer spread into the uterus? Has cancer spread to nearby formations or organs?
  • The extent to nearby lymph nodes (N): Has cancer increased to the para-aortic lymph nodes? These are the lymph nodes in the pelvis or nearby the aorta. 
  • The extent to distant sites (M): Has cancer expanded to separate lymph nodes or separate organs in other portions of the body?

Endometrial cancer staging can be complex, so ask your doctor to explain it to you in a way you understand.

Stage Stage grouping FIGO Stage Stage description*
I T1



I The endometrial stage is developing inside the uterus. It may also be developing into the organs of the cervix, however not into the supporting connective tissue of the cervix (T1).

It has not expanded to nearby lymph nodes (N0) or (M0).

IA T1a



IA The endometrial cancer stage 1a may develop less than halfway through the underlying tissue layer of the uterus (T1a).

It has not developed to nearby lymph nodes (N0) or distant positions (M0).






IB endometrial cancer stage 1b has spread from the endometrium into the myometrium. It has developed more than partially through the myometrium however has not spread beyond the body of the uterus (T1b).

It has not developed to nearby lymph nodes (N0) or separate sites (M0).






II The tumor has separated from the body of the uterus and is developing into the promoting connective tissue of the cervix. Although, it has not grownoutside the uterus (T2).

It has not expanded to nearby lymph nodes (N0) or to distant sites (M0).




III The cancer has grown outside the uterus, still has not grown to the inner wall of the rectum or urinary bladder (T3).

It has not developed to nearby lymph connections (N0) or to distant sites (M0).




IIIA The cancer has grown to the outside cover of the uterus or to the fallopian tubes (T3a).

It has not developed to nearby lymph nodes (N0) or to distant sites (M0).




IIIB The tumor has grown to the vagina or to the tissues around the uterus (T3b).

It has not developed to nearby lymph nodes (N0) or to distant sites (M0).


Any N


  The tumour has grown to the inner lining of the rectum or urinary bladder(T4).

It may or may not have developed to nearby lymph nodes, although it has not spread to distant sites (M0).


Any N


IVB The cancer has reached to inguinal lymph nodes, the upper abdomen, the omentum, or to organs away from the uterus,including the lungs, liver, or bones (M1).

The tumour can be any size (Any T) and it might or might not have to other lymph nodes (Any N).


*The following additional categories are not listed on the table above:

  • TX: The primary tumor cannot be estimated due to a lack of information.
  • T0: No indication of an original tumor.
  • NX: Regional lymph nodes cannot be exacted due to a lack of information. 

The staging system is determined by measuring tissue separated during an operation. This is additionally known as surgical staging. Sometimes, if an operation isn’t achievable right away, cancer will be assigned a clinical-stage preferably. This is based on the consequences of a physical exam, biopsy, and imaging experiments performed before surgery. 


If you have indications that could be a symptom of uterine cancer stages, get a recommendation from your expert. Quick diagnosis and surgery may further reduce the long-term diagnosis.

Please follow and like us:

Be the first to comment on "What Are the Stages of Endometrial or Uterine Cancer?"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.